Flygskam: What are the alternatives for travelling in Europe?

The impact of tourism on the environment is undeniable, and according to a study published in the review, Nature Climate Changeit now represents 8% of global greenhouse gas emissions! This is why a new trend has recently emerged. This is the flight shame or flygskam (in Swedish) one, which means to feel guilty about flying because of its harmful effects on the environment. Olympic athlete Björn Ferry is the instigator and main spokesperson for this trend in Sweden.

It is true that the plane pollutes. In 2018, it would have left about 918 million tonnes of CO2 in the sky. But is flygskam really a good idea? What are the alternatives for travelling in Europe without a plane? These alternatives exist because airplanes are losing more and more ground and sometimes even become a minority, often on journeys of more than 4 hours.

This is the reason why I wanted in this article to make you discover alternatives to the airplane, but without of course making you feel guilty.

"Flygskam": Is it really a good idea?

On this subject, my opinion is mixed. Even though it is true that air transport pollutes a tremendous amount, and I find it useful to talk about it in order to alert people to this fact. I also think that making people feel guilty so that they give up part of their lifestyle to have this "sustainable" label. It is neither beneficial nor effective.

Today there is still no real alternative to flying for long journeys. And let's be honest, few of us can afford to make more than one long trip a year. On the other hand, we have to make those who travel by private jet to attend a climate summit feel guilty. Unnecessary business trips where the issues discussed could be resolved by a telephone call or a video conference. Sports teams in particular, who travel by plane every week, even for short distances and for their domestic leagues.

Then, free to those who wish to make their own choices. Personally, I prefer to travel by train, bus or boat whenever possible. Today, it is possible to travel "eco-friendly" and I don't intend to stop.

flygskam alternatives

Slow Travel: what's this?

Slow travel is a state of mind that rejects the traditional ideas of tourism and encourages you to immerse yourself in your environment. To remain open to new experiences. This state of mind invites you to be more eco-responsible and sensitive to the environment. By taking the time, we allow ourselves to use less polluting means of transportation and benefit the local economy. 

When you are a slow traveler, you consider that getting around is an integral part of the journey and that this should be appreciated as much, if not more, than the final destination.

In short, slow travel is an approach to travel that emphasizes the connection: with local cultures, people, food and music. It is based on the idea that a journey is meant to educate and have an emotional impact in the present moment and for the future. While remaining sustainable for local communities and the environment.

Flygskam alternatives: Coach travel, advantages and disadvantages

Road transport is by far the largest emitter of CO2. However, these emissions depend on several criteria:

  • distance
  • number of passengers per vehicle
  • the type of itinerary

On a longer trip, about 500 km round trip. The coach is a good alternative as it emits on average only 58.5 kg of CO2 per passenger. Less for example than an airplane, which emits between 145 and 241 kg of CO2 per passenger for the same distance. Individual cars are also very polluting, emitting 170.6 kg of CO2.

The other advantages of travelling by coach are that we can travel at night. As a general rule, departures and arrivals are from the centre of the cities. What I particularly like about travelling by coach is that I can discover several cities without wasting a lot of money. Unlike air travel, where very often the most economical solution is a round trip from the same airports.

What I like a bit less, however, is that the trip takes relatively longer. However, it is possible to optimize your trip by stopping in cities where you wouldn't necessarily think of stopping by plane. When travelling by coach, it is also not necessary to get to the airport long in advance because of the security checks.

Flygskam alternatives: Rail travel, advantages and disadvantages

The railway is considered one of the most energy and environmentally efficient modes of land transport, particularly in terms of greenhouse gas emissions. The train is experiencing a revival, certainly because of flygskam and the growing global interest in a more sustainable lifestyle.

While between 2014 and 2016, the trend was to abolish night trains in France, but also in Germany, Spain and Italy. Today, these lines are experiencing a clear revival of interest.

In 2016, the Austrian railway company (ÖBB) took over part of the German lines, becoming the market leader for night trains in Europe. Since then, its passenger numbers have doubled. In Switzerland, traffic has increased by 25% since the beginning of 2019.

In my opinion, the train has very few drawbacks, and it is by far my favourite means of transport. In addition to the same advantages that I have already mentioned for the coach. The train has the same advantages over the plane. The train is also more comfortable. It is possible to get up and walk in the train and get to, for example, the dining car. By train you can also enjoy the scenery passing by. As a rule they are nicer than a motorway. But above all, the savings of one less night in a hotel and an arrival in the city centre without paying 50€ for a taxi.

Discover Europe in a converted van

Campervan is a means of travel that combines transportation and accommodation. For the past few years, it has been attracting more and more new enthusiasts, mainly because of the freedom it offers. Indeed, whether it is for a road-trip or for a getaway in nature. With a fully equipped van you can travel at your own pace, freely and without planning.

From an ecological point of view, travelling in a converted van is a better option than travelling by plane. However, the CO2 emissions can vary if you travel with 4 people in a small van or 2 people in a large camping car.

I think the campervan is perfect for those who want to be in contact with nature and discover new landscapes at their own pace every day. Nowadays, companies like Blacksheep offer vans for rent in many countries.

Slow Travel ou comment voyager en Europe sans prendre l’avion ?

L’impact du tourisme sur l’environnement est indéniable, il représente aujourd'hui, selon une étude parue dans la revue Nature Climate Change8% des émissions mondiales de gaz à effet de serre ! C'est pour cette raison qu'on assiste depuis peu à une nouvelle tendance. Celle du flight shame ou flygskam (en suédois) qui correspond à se sentir coupable de prendre l'avion à cause de ses effets néfastes sur l'environnement. L'athlète olympique Björn Ferry est l'instigateur et principal porte-parole de cette tendance en Suède.

Il est vrai que l'avion pollue. Il aurait laissé en 2018, environ 918 millions de tonnes de CO2 dans le ciel. Mais est-ce que le flygskam est vraiment une bonne idée ? Quelles sont les alternatives pour voyager en Europe sans avion ? Ces alternatives existent car l'avion perd de plus en plus de terrain et devient même parfois minoritaire, même sur des trajets dépassant 4 heures.

C'est la raison pour laquelle j'ai voulu dans cet article vous faire découvrir des alternatives à l'avion, mais sans bien sur vous faire culpabiliser.

Flightshame: Est-ce vraiment une bonne idée ?

À ce sujet, mon avis est mitigé. Même si il est vrai que le transport aérien pollue énormément, et que je trouve utile d'en parler afin d'alerter sur le sujet. Je trouve également que culpabiliser les gens afin qu’ils abandonnent une partie de leur style de vie pour avoir ce label «durable». Ce n’est ni utile ni efficace.

Aujourd'hui il n'existe pas encore de réel alternative à l'avion pour les longs trajets. Et soyons honnêtes, peu d'entre nous peuvent se permettre de faire plus d'un grand voyage par an. En revanche, nous devons faire culpabiliser ceux qui se déplacent en jet privé pour assister à un sommet pour le climat. Les voyages d'affaire inutiles où les sujets discutés pourraient être résolus par un appel téléphonique ou bien une visioconférence. Les équipes sportives notamment, qui se déplacent chaque semaine en avion, même sur des petites distances et pour leurs ligues domestiques.

Ensuite, libre à ceux qui le souhaitent de faire leurs propres choix. Personnellement, je préfère voyager en train, en bus ou en bateau lorsque c'est possible. Aujourd'hui, il est possible de voyager de manière « responsable » et je n'ai pas l'intention d'arrêter.

flygskam alternative

Slow Travel: qu'est-ce que c'est ?

Le slow travel est un état d'esprit qui rejette les idées traditionnelles du tourisme et vous encourage à vous imprégner de votre environnement. À rester ouvert à de nouvelles expériences. Cet état d'esprit invite à être plus écoresponsable et sensible à l’environnement. En prenant le temps, on se permet d’utiliser des moyens de transport moins polluants et profitables à l’économie locale. 

Lorsque l'on est un slow traveler, on considère que se déplacer fait partie intégrante du voyage et que ceci doit être apprécié tout autant, sinon plus, que la destination finale.

En somme, le slow travel est une approche de voyage alternatif qui met l'accent sur le lien : avec les cultures, les populations, la nourriture et la musique locale. Il repose sur l'idée qu'un voyage est destiné à éduquer et à avoir un impact émotionnel dans le moment présent et pour l'avenir. Tout en restant durable pour les communautés locales et l'environnement.

Alternative au "Flygskam": Voyage en autocar, avantages et inconvénients

Le transport routier est de loin le plus grand émetteur de CO2. Cependant, ces émissions dépendent de plusieurs critères, à savoir:

  • la distance
  • le nombre de passagers par véhicule
  • le type de trajet

Lors d'un trajet plus long, de 500 km aller-retour environ. L'autocar est une bonne alternative car il n'émet en moyenne que 58,5kg de CO2 par passager. Moins par exemple que l'avion qui émet entre 145 et 241 kg de CO2 par passager pour la même distance. La voiture est également très polluante, avec une émission de 170,6 kg de CO2.

Les autres avantages de voyager en autocar, c'est que nous pouvons voyager de nuit. En règle générale, les départs et l'arrivée sont depuis le centre des villes. Ce qui me plaît particulièrement lorsque je voyage en autocar est de pouvoir découvrir plusieurs villes sans gaspiller beaucoup d'argent. Contrairement au voyage en avion, où très souvent la solution la plus économique est le voyage aller-retour.

Ce qui me plaît en revanche un peu moins, c'est que le voyage est relativement plus long. Il est toutefois possible d'optimiser son voyage en autocar en faisant des haltes dans des villes où on ne penserait pas forcément s'arrêter en avion. En voyageant en autocar, il n'est également pas nécessaire de se rendre à l'aéroport longtemps à l'avance à cause des contrôles de sécurité.

Alternative au "Flygskam": Voyage en train, avantages et inconvénients

Le transport ferroviaire est considéré comme l’un des modes de transport terrestre les plus performants d’un point de vue énergétique et environnemental, notamment en matière d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Le train connaît un renouveau, certainement à cause du flygskam et la croissant intérêt mondial pour un mode de vie plus durable.

Alors qu'entre 2014 et 2016, la tendance était à la suppression des trains de nuit en France mais aussi en Allemagne, en Espagne et en Italie. Aujourd’hui, ces lignes connaissent un net regain d’intérêt.

En 2016, la compagnie ferroviaire autrichienne (ÖBB) a racheté une partie des lignes allemandes, devenant leader du marché des trains de nuit en Europe. Depuis, le nombre de ses passagers a doublé. En Suisse, le trafic a augmenté de 25% depuis début 2019.

À mon avis, le train a très peu d'inconvénients, et c'est de loin mon moyen de transport favori. En plus des mêmes avantages que j'ai déjà cité, de l'autocar par rapport à l'avion. Le train est également plus confortable. Il est possible de se lever et de marcher dans le train et se rendre, par exemple au wagon restaurant. En train on peut également apprécier les paysages défiler. En règle générale ils sont plus jolis qu'une autoroute. Mais surtout, les économies d'une nuit d’hôtel en moins et une arrivée en centre-ville sans débourser 50€ pour le taxi.

Découvrir l'Europe en van aménagé

Le campervan est un moyen de voyager qui combine transport et hébergement. Depuis quelques années, il séduit toujours plus de nouveaux adeptes surtout grâce à la liberté qu'il offre. En effet, qu'il s'agisse d'un road-trip ou pour une escapade dans la nature. Avec un van aménagé vous pouvez voyager à votre rythme, librement et sans planifier.

D'un point de vue écologique, le voyage en van aménagé reste une meilleure option que l'avion. Les rejets de CO2 peuvent toutefois varier si vous voyagiez à 4 dans un petit van ou bien alors à 2 dans un gros camping-car.

Je trouve que le campervan est parfait pour ceux qui veulent être au contact de la nature et découvrir à leur rythme, tous les jours des nouveaux paysages. Aujourd'hui, des entreprises tels que Blacksheep proposent des vans en location dans de nombreux pays.

Laissez un commentaire 0 commentaires

Laissez un commentaire: